Scholarships, grants and awards

Find out about upcoming opportunities

Join our scholarships, grants and awards mailing list to find out about funding opportunities for nurses as soon as they become available.

Sign up now


ACN Grants and Awards

Applications for the following grants and awards will be opening on 13 May 2021!

The following are available to ACN Fellows, Members and non-members. Eligibility criteria are listed for each award:

  • Laura Saunderson Fund – two valued $4,000
    Funding for continuing education for nurses working in aged care within Western Australia.
    Eligibility: Open to ACN Fellows, Members and non-members working in aged care in Western Australia.
  • Eric Murray Achievement Award – $1,500
    The award is to assist with continuing professional development or community work that is judged beneficial to the nursing profession and public.
    Eligibility: Open to current ACN students enrolled in one of the following ACN courses:
    • ACN graduate certificate course
    • Graduate Certificate in Nursing (Bridging & Re-entry)
    • Immunisation for Health Practitioners
  • Patricia Slater Award
    This award is for a registered nurse who is within the first three years of graduating from an undergraduate nursing course. The prize is registration, travel and accommodation to attend the ACN National Nursing Forum.
    Eligibility: Must be a Member of ACN.


The following are available to nurses who have been an ACN Fellow or Member for at least three consecutive years or more. Additional eligibility criteria are listed for each award:

  • ACN Research Grant – $10,000, available towards PhD, Post doctorate or research studies conducted at an Australian institution or organisation.
  • Florence Nightingale Memorial Scholarship – $10,000, available towards Doctoral or postdoctoral studies at an Australian Higher Education Institution.
  • Sister Margaret Y Winning Scholarship – $10,000
    Eligibility: Currently enrolled or intending to enrol at Queensland University of Technology (QUT) in 2021 in a nursing Masters program or a doctorate program.
  • The Sul Stuart Fraser Scholarship (2 available)
    This scholarship is open to registered nurses wishing to undertake the ACN Graduate Certificate in Perioperative Nursing. The scholarship covers the cost of the course fees.
    Eligibility: Currently working in a perioperative environment and have a minimum of one year postgraduate experience.


For further information about ACN Grants and Awards, please contact


Other opportunities


Other awards

  • Health Minister’s Award for Nursing Trailblazers
    Offered by the Hon. Greg Hunt MP in conjunction with ACN to recognise a nurse who has demonstrated leadership to bring new thinking to a wide range of health care challenges.
    Find out more.
  • Parkinson’s Care Postgraduate Unit of Study Award
    Up to $2,500 towards ACN’s Parkinson’s Care postgraduate unit of study course.
    Must be a Queensland-based registered nurse.